skip to Main Content


“The biggest and best all art, all LOCAL, wildly fun, eclectic, affordable, and talent-packed”

DAYTON (AUGUST 13, 2020) – The Contemporary Dayton’s (The Co) 26TH Annual Art Auction will take on a different look this year as a virtual event that will bring the same excitement and fun with online bidding. This no-cost event will be held August 26–30, 2020 with a live auction livestream that begins promptly at 7 p.m. on Saturday, August 29, 2020. In recognition of the interconnectedness of art and activism, The Co will donate 10% of proceeds raised from the art auction to The RubiGirls Scholarship Fund for LGBTQ students and straight allies as well as the YWCA Dayton’s Stand Against Racism Campaign 2020, both of which are working on the frontlines of social justice and anti-oppression.

The 2020 Online Art Auction & Benefit is The Co’s signature fundraising event and the only auction in the region dedicated exclusively to visual art. Proceeds will provide critical funding to The Co in support of programs for artists and the public that build understanding of and appreciation for the role of art in today’s society. One-hundred and twelve works of art including paintings, photographs, prints, jewelry and sculpture in ceramic, wood, glass, and bronze created by the talented array of artists from in and around the Miami Valley will be available for online bidding and the live auction livestream. The Auction offers something for everyone with prices starting at $60.

“While we will miss the liveliness of typical auction party, we are thankful to be hosting virtually and keeping our community members safe during this time,” said Eva Buttacavoli, Executive Director of The Co. “The Contemporary Dayton Art Auction is one way in which we showcase, promote and celebrate the vast talent of our region’s numerous artists. This much-anticipated event draws tastemakers, young professionals, community leaders, and philanthropic donors who truly believe art elevates our daily lives.”

Artists represented in the 2020 Art Auction include some of the region’s most notable, including Dave Ackels, John Emery, Katherine Kadish, Mychaelyn Michalec, Andy Snow, Terry Welker, and many more.

This year, we are pleased to offer participation in online bidding and the live auction at no cost, but registration is required to bid and purchase artwork.

Bid ONLINE August 26–30

Online bidding will open exclusively at 5:30 p.m. at on Wednesday, August 26, 2020 and close on Sunday, August 30, 2020 at 9:00 p.m. Viewing artwork and registration is FREE; you must register to bid.

Bid LIVE on Saturday, August 29 Live auction livestream begins promptly at 7:00 p.m. on Saturday, August 29, 2020. Livestream and registration are FREE; you must register to bid.


  • David Ackels
  • Erin Holscher Almazan
  • Almost Normal Design
  • Guustie Alvarado
  • Pat Antonick
  • Nicholaus Arnold
  • Stephanie Beiser
  • Julie Beyer
  • Bridgette Bogle
  • Michele BonDurant
  • Alexandria Boulden
  • David Brand
  • Arlene Branick
  • Matthew Burgy
  • Virginia Burroughs
  • Bruce Campbell
  • Connie Campbell
  • Rosalie Campbell
  • Michelle Carr
  • J.D. Claffey
  • Glen Clark
  • Virgil Clark
  • Dan Cleary
  • Bob Coates
  • Jon Daugherty
  • Lori Daugherty
  • Regina Dixon
  • Amy Dolan
  • Rachel Dominguez-Benner
  • Mark Echtner
  • Mike Elsass
  • John Emery
  • Douglas Fiely
  • Tracy Foskuhl
  • Bill Franz
  • Mark Freytag
  • Katie Clark Gabbard
  • Tom Girard
  • Jennifer Glance
  • Erin Smith-Glenn
  • Lloyd Greene
  • Michael “Ace” Gummer
  • Linda Hart
  • Debbie Hicks
  • Mikee Huber
  • Kate Huser Santucci
  • Kelly Ingerson
  • Greg Alan Jankowski
  • Glenna Jennings
  • Zac Johnston
  • Jeffrey Cortland
  • Jones Heather
  • Jones Calvin C. Jones Jr.
  • Katherine Kadish
  • Cydnie King
  • Mary Baker Koch
  • Annie Kolk
  • Paul Laage
  • Joyce Berry Lagedrost
  • Dan Landis
  • David Leach
  • Tony Lee
  • Joyce Lucht
  • Richard Malgorski
  • Edy Martin
  • Brian Mathus
  • Barb McBee
  • Jessica McBounds
  • C. Pat McClelland
  • Jim McCullough
  • Margie McCullough
  • Doug McLarty
  • Carol McNeeley
  • Kevin McNeeley
  • Mychaelyn Michalec
  • Lee Monnin
  • Maureen O’Keefe
  • Jaime Pacheco
  • Marilynn Page
  • Christina Pereyma
  • Linda Phillips
  • Sandra Picciano-Brand
  • Marsha Monroe Pippenger
  • Judd Plattenburg
  • David Riel
  • Ron Rollins
  • Francis Schanberger
  • Jennifer Shonle
  • Ashley Simons
  • Jay Snively
  • Andy Snow
  • Bruce Soifer
  • Andrea Starkey
  • Barb Stork
  • Jamie Trusty
  • JoAnne Vincent
  • Jon Vincent
  • Sandra Wall
  • Terry Welker
  • Joel Whitaker
  • Sean Wilkinson
  • Don Williams


  • Chair: Dirk Kreutzer
  • Beth Adelman
  • Jessica A. Bott
  • Barbara & Dan Claudepierre
  • Beth DeVilbiss
  • Heather & Dave Hime
  • Jo Anne & Jon Vincent


Corporate Sponsors

  • Square One Salon and Spa
  • Element Utility Services
  • Zig Zag Gallery
  • Coolidge Wall
  • Houser Asphalt & Concrete
  • Heidelberg Distributing

Gold Sponsors

  • Dr. Robert L. Brandt, Jr.
  • Sinclair Community College
  • Betsy Whitney
  • Alan & Carolyn Hirsh Lindy
  • Miller Valentine

Bronze Sponsors

  • Stephanie Slowinski & Paul Benson
  • Jim & Sandra Wall
  • Lou & Steve Mason
  • Mark Brewer & Kevin Tunstall
  • Michael Allen

Grand Patron Sponsors

  • Dirk Kreutzer & Todd Kepler
  • Anne Johnson
  • Linda Caron
  • Richard Stover & Tawnya Darlington
  • Don & Shari Rethman
  • Eileen & Richard Carr
  • Stephanie Keinath
  • Eleni Preto
  • Eva Buttacavoli & Patrick Martin


Mission: To provide art for the community and a community for artists.

Overview: The Contemporary Dayton (The Co) is the region’s contemporary art center. Established in 1991 as Dayton Visual Arts Center (DVAC), a 501c3, The Co produces and presents original exhibitions and programs, art events, community partnerships, and artist opportunities. Exhibitions and education programs feature artists living and working today, both nationally and in Ohio, with an emphasis on those whose work focuses on issues of social justice. In addition to its three galleries—open to all and always free—its retail store, the CoSHOP, provides income for Ohio artists and extends The Co’s accessibility to art, from visitor engagement to educational outreach through store products, programs, and experiences.

The Co is proud to support the creation of connections among the arts, community building, civic engagement, community planning, and use of public space, and makes an annual economic impact of 3.4 million to the region. Recently raising 1 million during the Pandemic to expand and move into its new home in downtown’s historic Dayton Arcade, The Co is led by Executive Director Eva Buttacavoli, a 30-year art museum administrator, curator, and educator, whose previous roles were at The Contemporary Austin, TX and The Perez Art Museum Miami, FL; and Curator Michael Goodson, who previously served as Curator at the Wexner Center for the Arts, Beeler Gallery, Columbus College of Art and Design, OH; and as Director at James Cohan Gallery, NY.

The Contemporary Dayton receives operating support from Culture Works, Montgomery County Arts & Cultural District, Ohio Arts Council, the Virginia W. Kettering Foundation, and Members.