skip to Main Content


July 11-August 15, 2020

A celebration of the area’s robust visual arts community, the show is organized by former Dayton resident, WSU Grad, and most recently Senior Curator at the Wexner Center for the Arts, Michael Goodson; and prizes are selected by Willis “Bing” Davis.

DAYTON (July 9, 2020) – The Contemporary Dayton (The Co) presents The 29th Annual Open Members’ Show. The Co is thrilled to re-open its galleries for the first time since COVID-19 safe-distancing measures were put into place in March with one of its most popular exhibitions of the year—a literal celebration of over 100 local and Ohio artists.

Prize Winners:

The Lombard Prize Best in Show—C. Pat McClelland, East 127th Street
2nd Prize—Susie King, Number 5
3rd Prize—Nick Stamas, Technicolor Sheep 1
The Mike Goheen Memorial Award for Emerging Photographers—Edd McGatha, Home School
The Mayor’s Office Exhibition Award—Andy Snow, Resilience
2020 Members’ Postcard Award—Connie Hanselman, Going Gray
Honorable Mentions—Mark Freytag, Dr. Fauci’s Flux Capacitor, Amy Deal, We Are Not Alright

The Annual Open Members’ Show is our annual all-media, all-level Artist Member celebration. All Artist Members were invited to submit one work of art that spoke to the theme: Reflections of COVID-19. Since many in our community faced financial hardship this summer, The Co opened up the show to all artists regardless of Membership and were surprised and excited to accept over 100 works of art. Artworks will also be for sale to benefit both the artists and The Co.

The exhibition will open with a Friends & Family Open House on Friday, July 10, from 12-4 p.m. Prizes will be announced at 3 p.m. The Co requests that masks be worn and social distancing practiced for the duration of the event.

The exhibition is organized and installed by The Co’s guest curator, Michael Goodson, Senior Curator of Exhibitions at Wexner Center for the Arts. Over the past 15 years, as Director of Exhibitions at CCAD’s Beeler Gallery and James Cohan Gallery, NY, and now as Senior Curator of Exhibitions at the Wexner Center for the Arts.

The exhibition will include a number of cash and recognition awards. This year’s prize juror is Willis “Bing” Davis, renowned artist, cultural leader and founder of Dayton’s EbonNia Gallery and the SHANGO Center for The Study of African American Act & Culture. Davis will be selecting artworks to receive The Lombard Prize for Best in Show, The Mike Goheen Memorial Award for Emerging Photographers, and The Mayor’s Office Exhibition Award.


Friends & Family Preview: Friday, July 10, 12-4 p.m. For the safety of our artists and employees, we ask that masks be worn and practice social distancing for the duration of the opening.

The artists presented in the exhibition are as follows:

  • Guustie Alvarado
  • Pat Antonick
  • Ginny Baughman
  • Michele BonDurant
  • Rachel Botting
  • Matthew Burgy
  • Virginia Burroughs
  • Bruce Campbell
  • Rosalie Campbell
  • Kim Ceccarelli
  • Glen Clark Virgil
  • Clark Dan Cleary
  • Bob Coates
  • Tess Cortes
  • Jon Daugherty
  • Kelsey Daugherty
  • Lori Daugherty
  • Amy Deal
  • Rachel Dominguez-Benner
  • Ronald Duckett Sr.
  • Mark Echtner
  • Samantha Farkas
  • Doug Fiely
  • Mark Freytag
  • Charlene Fox
  • Katie Clark Gabbard
  • Jennifer Glance
  • Shannon Grecula
  • Richard Green
  • Michael “Ace” Gummer
  • Kelly Hanning
  • Connie Hanselman
  • Doug Harlow
  • Linda Hart
  • Shawna Hatton
  • Debbie Hicks
  • Bitsy Hildenbrandt
  • Mikee Huber
  • Jon Barlow
  • Hudson Elissa
  • Inman Gretchen
  • Durst Jacobs
  • Glenna Jennings
  • Zac Johnston
  • Sam Kelly
  • Tammy Kessen
  • Cydnie King
  • Susie King
  • Christine Klinger
  • Mary Koch
  • Amy Kollar Anderson
  • Bonnie Kuntz
  • Joyce Lagedrost
  • David Leach
  • Tracy Longley-Cook
  • Brian Mathus
  • Patrick Mauk
  • C. Pat McClelland
  • Jim McCullough
  • Margie McCullough
  • Edd McGatha
  • Maria McGinnis
  • Doug McLarty
  • Carol McNeeley
  • Kevin McNeeley
  • Lyric Morris-Latchaw
  • Tom Novak
  • Maureen O’Keefe
  • Jaime Pacheco
  • Hyacinth Paul
  • Jen Perkins
  • Julia Pfeil
  • Linda Phillips
  • Marsha Monroe Pippenger
  • Judd Plattenburg
  • David Riel
  • Yetunde Rodriguez
  • Ron Rollins
  • Kate Huser Santucci
  • Francis Schanberger
  • Sandi Simmons
  • Andy Snow
  • Jill Spencer
  • Nick C. Stamas
  • Peggy Steinberg
  • Sally Struthers
  • Emily von-Stuckrad-Smolinski
  • Doug Taylor
  • Winfred Taylor
  • Judy Thaxton
  • Kyle Thiele
  • Rebecca Tsaloff
  • JoAnne Vincent
  • Jon Vincent
  • Kim Vito
  • Dennis Walker
  • Sandra Wall
  • Barb Weinert-McBee
  • Terry Welker
  • Joel Whitaker
  • Mary Beth Whitley
  • Sean Wilkinson
  • Paula Wilmot-Kraus
  • Daryl E. Woody
  • Anastasia Yaney


Mission: To provide art for the community and a community for artists.

Overview: The Contemporary Dayton (The Co) is the region’s contemporary art center. Established in 1991 as Dayton Visual Arts Center (DVAC), a 501c3, The Co produces and presents original exhibitions and programs, art events, community partnerships, and artist opportunities. Exhibitions and education programs feature artists living and working today, both nationally and in Ohio, with an emphasis on those whose work focuses on issues of social justice. In addition to its three galleries—open to all and always free—its retail store, the CoSHOP, provides income for Ohio artists and extends The Co’s accessibility to art, from visitor engagement to educational outreach through store products, programs, and experiences.

The Co is proud to support the creation of connections among the arts, community building, civic engagement, community planning, and use of public space, and makes an annual economic impact of 3.4 million to the region. Recently raising 1 million during the Pandemic to expand and move into its new home in downtown’s historic Dayton Arcade, The Co is led by Executive Director Eva Buttacavoli, a 30-year art museum administrator, curator, and educator, whose previous roles were at The Contemporary Austin, TX and The Perez Art Museum Miami, FL; and Curator Michael Goodson, who previously served as Curator at the Wexner Center for the Arts, Beeler Gallery, Columbus College of Art and Design, OH; and as Director at James Cohan Gallery, NY.

The Contemporary Dayton receives operating support from Culture Works, Montgomery County Arts & Cultural District, Ohio Arts Council, the Virginia W. Kettering Foundation, and Members.