skip to Main Content

DVAC PRESENTS THE BEST OF LOCAL STUDENT ART WORK: The Cline Show: Annual Art & Design Student Invitational Opening Soon

DAYTON (December 13, 2017) – The Dayton Visual Arts Center (DVAC) presents The Cline Show: Annual Art & Design Student Invitational, an exhibition featuring the work of 40 college and university art and design students from across the region. This show opens January 12th, 2018 and runs through February 10th. An Opening Reception will be held on January 12th from 6:00 to 8:00 pm. This reception is free and open to the public. A Gallery Talk is scheduled for February 2nd from 6:00-8:00 p.m.

This annual exhibition was named in memory of Barbara C. Cline who, in her 10 years as DVAC’s office manager, influenced hundreds of student interns and emerging artists. In that spirit, DVAC proudly showcases college and university art and design students in this very special event.

Students were selected to be a part of The Cline Show after being nominated by faculty of fine art and design departments from local colleges and universities, including the University of Dayton, Wright State University, Sinclair Community College, Edison Community College, Antioch College, Wittenberg University, and the School of Advertising Art. Each student is permitted to submit up to three works of art, ranging from painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture and design. These students work directly with DVAC staff to gain valuable, hands-on experience in exhibiting their work.

Nominated students were also eligible to interview for one of the program’s three mentorships in which winners take on the roles of curator, preparatory and marketing and publication coordinator for the exhibition. DVAC provides specialized training to these artists through the process of organizing and participating in a professional gallery exhibition.

“DVAC was founded by Dayton-area artists, art supporters, and visual arts professionals who saw a need for more interaction between the public and regional artists,” said Eva Buttacavoli, executive director of DVAC . “Working with our region’s students, mentoring them and providing them with a true-to-life, professional gallery experience is at the core of what we do, helping to foster the next generation of artists and making connections to other artists and art lovers. Each year, it is a privilege to work with students for The Cline Show in an experience that replicates the submission and selection process undertaken by professional and institutional galleries everywhere.”

Sponsors for the Cline Show include Exhibition Partners Amelia Hounshell and Brian Albrecht, along with Education & Public Program Sponsors Dr. Bob Brandt, Jr. and Marjorie Kuhns.

The Cline Show: Annual Art & Design Student Invitational Artists:

  • Laila Alshuwaikhat, University of Dayton
  • Sarah Baker, Sinclair Community College
  • Chumani Bowser, Sinclair Community College
  • Annie Brinkman, University of Dayton
  • Erin Brubaker, Wittenberg University
  • Connie Brunson, Antioch College
  • Morgan Bukovec, University of Dayton
  • Ellie Burck, Antioch College
  • Odette Chavez-Mayo, Antioch College
  • Elaine Cloern, Wright State University
  • Kaitlyn Cramer, Sinclair Community College
  • Mary Cregan, University of Dayton
  • Zoe Duncan, Sinclair Community College
  • Todd Ennis, Antioch College
  • Simeon Estes, Sinclair Community College
  • Eric Hamlin, Wright State University
  • Matthew Helton, Wright State University
  • Teddy Hesterman, Wittenberg University
  • Michael Krieger, Wright State University
  • Hunter Lewis, School of Advertising Art
  • Joise Libecap, University of Dayton
  • Kelly McGuire, University of Dayton
  • Shelby Miller, School of Advertising Art
  • Meme Miranda, University of Dayton
  • Jebetu Moiwai, Antioch College
  • Lauren Murphree, School of Advertising Art
  • Charlotte Norman, Antioch College
  • Kathryn Paull, University of Dayton
  • Hannah Petelin, Cedarville College
  • Stephanie Santiago, University of Dayton
  • Morgan Smither, School of Advertising Art
  • Jill Spencer, Sinclair Community College
  • Sylvia Stahl, University of Dayton
  • Latosha Stone, Sinclair Community College
  • Jesse Thompson, University of Dayton
  • Jacqueline Wagner, Sinclair Community College
  • Lindsay Welton, School of Advertising Art
  • Esmé Westerlund, Antioch College
  • Alexis White, School of Advertising Art
  • Rachel Wilson, Edison State Community College


Mission: To provide art for the community and a community for artists.

Overview: The Contemporary Dayton (The Co) is the region’s contemporary art center. Established in 1991 as Dayton Visual Arts Center (DVAC), a 501c3, The Co produces and presents original exhibitions and programs, art events, community partnerships, and artist opportunities. Exhibitions and education programs feature artists living and working today, both nationally and in Ohio, with an emphasis on those whose work focuses on issues of social justice. In addition to its three galleries—open to all and always free—its retail store, the CoSHOP, provides income for Ohio artists and extends The Co’s accessibility to art, from visitor engagement to educational outreach through store products, programs, and experiences.

The Co is proud to support the creation of connections among the arts, community building, civic engagement, community planning, and use of public space, and makes an annual economic impact of 3.4 million to the region. Recently raising 1 million during the Pandemic to expand and move into its new home in downtown’s historic Dayton Arcade, The Co is led by Executive Director Eva Buttacavoli, a 30-year art museum administrator, curator, and educator, whose previous roles were at The Contemporary Austin, TX and The Perez Art Museum Miami, FL; and Curator Michael Goodson, who previously served as Curator at the Wexner Center for the Arts, Beeler Gallery, Columbus College of Art and Design, OH; and as Director at James Cohan Gallery, NY.

The Contemporary Dayton receives operating support from Culture Works, Montgomery County Arts & Cultural District, Ohio Arts Council, the Virginia W. Kettering Foundation, and Members.