skip to Main Content

DVAC PRESENTS THE BEST OF STUDENT WORK: The Cline Show: Annual Art & Design Student Invitational Opening Soon

DAYTON (February 23, 2017) – The Dayton Visual Arts Center (DVAC) presents The Cline Show: Annual Art & Design Student Invitational, an annual exhibition featuring the work of 37 college and university art and design students from across the region.

This show opens March 3rd and runs through April 1st. An Opening Reception will be held on March 3 rd from 5:00 to 8:00 pm. This reception is free and open to the public. A Gallery Talk is scheduled for March 23, 5:30-8 p.m.; talk begins at 6:15 p.m.

Students were selected to be a part of The Cline Show after being nominated by faculty of fine art and design departments from local colleges and universities, including the University of Dayton, Wright State University, Sinclair Community College, Edison Community College, and the School of Advertising Art. Each student is permitted to submit up to three works of art, ranging from painting, photography, printmaking, sculpture and design. These students worked directly with DVAC staff to gain valuable, hands-on experience in exhibiting their work.

Nominated students were also eligible to interview for one of the program’s three mentorships in which winners take on the roles of curator, preparatory and marketing and publication coordinator for the exhibition. DVAC provided specialized training to these artists through the process of organizing and participating in a professional gallery exhibition. This year’s mentored students are:

  • Curator: Alexandra Morissette, University of Dayton
  • Preparators: Carmen Ferraro, Sinclair Community College and Jacob Tate, Wright State University
  • Marketing & Publication Coordinator: Madisson Baron-Galbavi, University of Dayton

This annual exhibition was named in memory of Barbara C. Cline who, in her 10 years as DVAC’s office manager, influenced hundreds of student interns and emerging artists. In that spirit, DVAC proudly showcases college and university art and design students in this very special event.

Sponsors for the Cline Show include the Barbara C. Cline Memorial Fund, Exhibition Partners Catherine G. Hall and Amelia Hounshell & Brian Albrecht, and Education & Public Program Sponsors Dr. Bob Brandt, Jr., Krista Crawford Mathis, Ph.D. Mrs. Ed Kuhns, and David Fogerty & Kathleen Watters.

“DVAC was founded by Dayton-area artists, art supporters, and visual arts professionals who saw a need for more interaction between the public and regional artists. Working with our region’s students, mentoring them and providing them with a true-to-life, professional gallery experience is at the core of what we do, helping to foster the next generation of artists and making connections to other artists and art lovers,” said Eva Buttacavoli, executive director of DVAC. “Each year, it is a privilege to work with students for The Cline Show in an experience that replicates the submission and selection process undertaken by professional and institutional galleries everywhere.”

The Cline Show: Annual Art & Design Student Invitational Artists:

  • Brook Albers, School of Advertising Art
  • Rachel Andrews, Sinclair Community College
  • Madisson Baron-Galbavi, University of Dayton
  • Megan Bollheimer, University of Dayton
  • Josh Cigrang, Wright State University
  • Roy Davis, Sinclair Community College
  • Patrick Devine, Cedarville University
  • Clarissa Dickey, Sinclair Community College
  • Carmen Ferraro,Sinclair Community College
  • Emmi Gordon, School of Advertising Art
  • Erica Goulart, Wright State University
  • Sarah Gray, University of Dayton
  • Natali Green, Sinclair Community College
  • John Gruber, University of Dayton
  • Al Harden, Sinclair Community College
  • Philip Heiss, School of Advertising Art
  • Emily Imke, School of Advertising Art
  • Toyoko Kato, Wright State University
  • Tyler Klostermeier, School of Advertising Art
  • Aryn Landes, School of Advertising Art
  • Bridget McCaffery, University of Dayton
  • Kevin McKneeley, Sinclair Community College
  • Cassidy Metcalf, Wright State University
  • Blayne Mitchel, Sinclair Community College
  • Alexandra Morrissette, University of Dayton
  • Amy Norrod, Sinclair Community College
  • Taylor Orr, University of Dayton
  • Debra Richardson-Wood, Wright State University
  • Sarah Robinson, Sinclair Community College
  • Nick Stalter, Wright State University
  • Jacob Tate, Wright State University
  • Katriana Teoh, University of Dayton
  • Leigh Vukov, University of Dayton
  • Megan Webb, Sinclair Community College
  • David Welker, School of Advertising Art
  • Jodie White, Sinclair Community College
  • Tess Woodcock, Edison Community College


Mission: To provide art for the community and a community for artists.

Overview: The Contemporary Dayton (The Co) is the region’s contemporary art center. Established in 1991 as Dayton Visual Arts Center (DVAC), a 501c3, The Co produces and presents original exhibitions and programs, art events, community partnerships, and artist opportunities. Exhibitions and education programs feature artists living and working today, both nationally and in Ohio, with an emphasis on those whose work focuses on issues of social justice. In addition to its three galleries—open to all and always free—its retail store, the CoSHOP, provides income for Ohio artists and extends The Co’s accessibility to art, from visitor engagement to educational outreach through store products, programs, and experiences.

The Co is proud to support the creation of connections among the arts, community building, civic engagement, community planning, and use of public space, and makes an annual economic impact of 3.4 million to the region. Recently raising 1 million during the Pandemic to expand and move into its new home in downtown’s historic Dayton Arcade, The Co is led by Executive Director Eva Buttacavoli, a 30-year art museum administrator, curator, and educator, whose previous roles were at The Contemporary Austin, TX and The Perez Art Museum Miami, FL; and Curator Michael Goodson, who previously served as Curator at the Wexner Center for the Arts, Beeler Gallery, Columbus College of Art and Design, OH; and as Director at James Cohan Gallery, NY.

The Contemporary Dayton receives operating support from Culture Works, Montgomery County Arts & Cultural District, Ohio Arts Council, the Virginia W. Kettering Foundation, and Members.